Charities Day - Oban Rotary Club

The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
Go to content

Once again Rotary took a stall at Oban's annual charities Day where this year there were over 30 stalls representing a cross section of our local fund raising community. The event, which is organised by the Oban Lions, was supported by Oban FM, Oban Pipe Band with side acts which included a display of Irish dancing. The weather was favourable and this led to quite large crowds passing who were happy to support the exhibiting charities with Oban Rotary doing well with their "wheel of Fortune" - in the region of £360 was raised which is thought to be "quite good" given the level of "competition" which in now available - having a stall is really all about maintaining our profile in the community rather than raising funds.

The prizes on offer from the "Wheel of Fortune" were largely alcohol related with all bottles being donated by members.

Our picture shows Communities Convenor  Peter Tosh, Tommy MacQuade, Ronnie Neil and Ken Moncrieff, the latter three all past presidents. PP Ken looks like he is whispering to the lovely Tess and she is listening but there is no truth in the rumour that President Iain could not get a passerby to take the photo so he could be in it!  Worse than this is that the Oban Times took a photo of Rotary's stall but in their efforts to get the "wheel of Fortune" in it is said President Iain was excluded!"
Pictured here manning Oban Rotary's "Wheel of Fortune" are President Tommy McQuade at the back with fellow Rotarians L to  R, Ronnie Neil, Peter Tosh, Billy MacLean and Graham Innes.
The Charities Stalls operate from 12pm to 4pm and Oban Rotary raised a creditable £490 in the period towards its charitable giving.

Rotarians Phil Monteith, Terry Macnair, Ronnie Neil and Jack Tollan on duty at the "Wheel of Fortune" on Charities Day

© The Rotary Club of Oban. All rights reserved.
Officers 2023 - 2024
President -
Senior Vice -
Junior Vice -
Ciorstan Baxter
Peter Tosh
Steven Lowe
Secretary -
Treasurer -
Kenneth Moncrieff
Roger Parry
Back to content