OHS Clan Debate - Oban Rotary Club

The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
Go to content
The winning team with the panel of judges.
L-R Iain Mac Intyre, Sarah Carlin, Jim Fraser, Frank Walton, Mike Russell, Morven MacFarlane-Donald and Bronwen Davies.
Oban High School held it's annual inter clan debate on Monday,20th June which opened with Clan Ossian arguing the case for leaving the EU with Clan Somerled opposing the proposal. The second debate was between Clans Diarmid and Fingal with the former proposing that money plays too big a part in American politics and the latter opposing this view.

Both debates highlighted how well prepared the speakers were with all concerned demonstrating a sound knowledge of their subjects. Quite a number of pertinent questions were put to the debaters from the large audience who comprised fellow students from 5th and 6th years but in the end the proposal to leave the EU failed and the audience agreed that there is too much money in American politics.

The panel of judges comprised Argyll and Bute MSP Mike Russell, Jim Fraser from Oban Speakers club with Frank Walton and Iain Mac Intyre representing Oban Rotary. The Judges agreed that the winning clan in terms of content and presentation was Clan Diarmid represented by Morven MacFarlane-Donald, Sarah Carlin and Bronwen Davies with Sarah Carlin also adjudged to be the best individual speaker. A prize was also awarded to the student who was thought to have asked the best question from the audience and this went to Ross Cameron.
The competition was sponsored by the Rotary club of Oban as part of it's Youth Services Programme and monetary prizes were made available from the club to each of the winning participants. It was generally agreed that this was an outstanding event with all the participants and their teachers being highly praised by the judging panel.
© The Rotary Club of Oban. All rights reserved.
Officers 2023 - 2024
President -
Senior Vice -
Junior Vice -
Ciorstan Baxter
Peter Tosh
Steven Lowe
Secretary -
Treasurer -
Kenneth Moncrieff
Roger Parry
Back to content