Young Speakers Competition - Oban Rotary Club

The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
Go to content
Oban Rotary's 2019 Young Speakers Competition, which involves Primary 6 and 7 youngsters speaking on a subject of their choice for 3/4 minutes, was held last Wednesday evening (22nd May)at the Perle hotel.

18 students from the local primary schools took part and once again each presentation was in the outstanding category which left MC for the night, Rotary President Iain Mac Intyre wondering what superlatives are left to describe this Competition. The students were ably supported by their families and teachers with each speaker being loudly applauded by the large audience. The winner of the competition was David Simpson from Rockfield P/S speaking on "The importance of talking as an alternative to technology", in second place was Zofia Dobrzyn (St Columbas) with her chosen subject being "China and Nepal arguing over Mt Everest" and third was Charlotte Moreland (St Columbas) whose topic was "Technology and how it is changing the world". The winner received the Oban Rotary Young Speakers Quaich with all three receiving  monetary prizes.

The adjudicators were Bill Leech, Eamon Arthur and Alex Clark who are members of Oban Speakers Club.

In his final summing up, President Iain emphasised the importance of being able to speak to an audience if one is to have a successful career in the modern world.

Our pictures show David Simpson with President Iain and Bill Leech, the principal adjudicator and President Iain again with all the Speakers.

Oban Rotary under the leadership of President Tommy McQuade ended its 2017/18 Youth Programme on a high with " The Young Speakers Competition" which was held last Wednesday evening at the Perle Hotel.


This involves primary 6 and 7 pupils speaking on a topical subject of their choice  for 3 to 4 minutes and the event goes from strength to strength with each individual presentation in the outstanding category. Our photograph shows the participants with members of Oban Rotary and Oban Speakers Club, the latter being the adjudicators of the competition.

The winner, who was quite outstanding, was Bobbie Stewart from Lochnell PS, with Caitlin MacKay from Taynuilt PS and Alex Elliot from Rockfield PS second and third respectively. The three winners received monetary prizes with all participants getting a "Certificate of Participation" signed by President Tommy.
The Rotary Club of Oban held its annual Young Speakers Competition on Wednesday 14th June at the Royal Hotel. The competition is open to primary 6 and 7 pupils and 15 youngsters took part representing Barcaldine, Dalmally, Dunbeg,  Taynuilt, Lochnell, Rockfield and St Columbus primary schools.

The Young Speakers are judged by members of Oban Speakers Club and in his summing up the chairman of the judging panel said that the standard just gets better and better with this year's competition in overall terms probably the best yet.

The winner of the competition was Dylan Howe from Lochnell school who gave an outstanding performance speaking to the pros and cons of Social Media with Megan Day from Taynuilt coming in second on the subject of Women in NASA. Third equal were Kirsty McClymont representing Rockfield and Sophie Houston also from Taynuilt whose subjects were Animal Testing and The importance of Bees respectively.

The winners received monetary prizes with all participants getting a personalised Rotary certificate for taking part. The event was well attended by Rotarians and supporters of the participants with refreshments on hand courtesy of the Royal Hotel which added to the conviviality of the evening. The evening was brought to a close by Oban Rotary President Graham Fraser warmly thanking all concerned for their contribution to what was a very enjoyable and rewarding event.

The winners, Dylan Howe and to his left Sophie Houston and to his right Megan Day with  Kirsty McClymont at the back along with members of the Oban Rotary organising team.
© The Rotary Club of Oban. All rights reserved.
Officers 2024 - 2025
President -
Senior Vice -
Junior Vice -
Peter Tosh
Steven Lowe
Edward Thornton
Secretary -
Treasurer -
Kenneth Moncrieff
Ronnie Forbes
Back to content